May | MONTHLY WRAP-UP

It genuinely feels like May never existed. I read a decent number of books but I wasn’t entirely into it, mostly worrying about things in the world and in the future. One fun thing is that I started reading ARCs! I have some fun ARC reviews planned in the next few months for books I’ve been super excited about!

Books I read this month

☆☆☆☆ ½
Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng

☆☆☆ ½
Alicia Alonso Takes the Stage by Rebel Girls (Nancy Ohlin) [ARC]
Fat Girl Finishing School by Rachel Wiley
A Song Below Water by Bethany C. Morrow [ARC]
The School for Good and Evil by Soman Chainani

☆☆☆
Goodnight Mind for Teens by Colleen E. Carney [ARC]

My thoughts

I’ve had some slightly disappointing reads this month. The School for Good and Evil had been on my list for a while and I was so excited to read it! Sadly, it turned out to be not my favourite! It was fine, just not something I’d continue. I was also enormously happy to review A Song Below Water but it wasn’t what I had expected. It’s still an amazing book that I really recommend everyone to read, especially with the protests going on!

For Asian Readathon I read The School for Good and Evil and Little Fires Everywhere. I had Spin the Dawn and a few other books planned but they arrived a bit too late and with the ARCs I was trying to get through, it would have been nearly impossible. I really enjoyed Little Fires Everywhere but I think I liked the new Hulu series a bit more since it seemed to have more depth to it. Both were equally amazing and I am dying to read another book by Celeste Ng!

As for my book of the month, it’s quite clear I chose Little Fires Everywhere. None of the books that I read this month quite reached that level for me, which is not surprising since it won quite some awards and had a lot of praise. You can find my review here.

Started off May reading Little Fires Everywhere

Upcoming

I’ve had some books on my shelf waiting to be read for over a month now and it’s time to finally get to them. I have gorgeous books like Animal Farm and Lovely War that I might finally finish in June! I also have an ARC of The Extraordinaries by T.J. Klune that I’ve been dying to read and I’m so glad I get the chance to!

I’m not sure how much I’ll actually get to read of my TBR since June equals exam month, but we’ll see!

What was your favourite book in May? Let me know and don’t forget: Black Lives Matter!!!!!!!!

1 thought on “May | MONTHLY WRAP-UP”

  1. […] and Evil is already between my read books and … it was disappointing, just like I said in my wrap-up post. I did not like most of the characters and since I imagined one of my favourites was gay, I thought […]

    Like

Leave a comment